not just the cops who want answers #UrbanFantasy @JWTroemner @GoddessFish

nbtm_tourbanner_markofthedragon

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to JW Troemner and her story Mark of the Dragon!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

mediakit_authorphoto_urbandragon

JW Troemner was born in Germany and immigrated to the United States, where she lives with her partner in a house full of pets. Most days she can be found gazing longingly at sinkholes and abandoned buildings.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Website ## Twitter ## Facebook ## Mailing list ## Goodreads

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked JW Troemner, “What fuels you to continue writing?” and here is the response.

Hello, Jacey, and thank you so much for hosting me today!

Earlier you asked me what fuels me to continue writing. It brought to mind an experience I had recently, and I wanted to share it with your followers.

A while back I was working for a company that makes and grades most of the standardized tests taken by children in the USA (by the way, if you ever want to lose all faith in the education system, I recommend starting there). To prevent examiners from leaking answers, we weren’t allowed to have anything except for food and beverages with us while we worked. So naturally, I almost got fired because one of my managers found me with a pen.

When he demanded to know if I’d been copying questions, I showed him the notebook I had stashed in my purse. The only things copied from the test were a few inspired misspellings that sounded like fantasy names. The rest of the pages were crammed with with fragmented outlines and snippets of conversations and nonsense turns of phrase that sounded so absolutely perfect in my head that the thought of forgetting them was physically painful.

My manager told me that if it ever happened again I’d be fired, and I bowed my head and accepted the admonishment. For the rest of my contract, I struggled to focus on the drudgery while my head was buzzing with those same fragmented bits of story. It was like being in a cloud of mosquitos, and the only way to escape them was to catch each one and put them on paper for later. Otherwise they would keep repeating, over and over and over again.

I’ve had a bunch of jobs over the years, and I’ve always written during every spare moment of downtime—on paper towels, receipts, pay stubs, and on myself when I couldn’t get my hands on paper. But it’s never quite been so painful as when I wasn’t allowed to do it at all for eight hours at a time.

The thing that makes me write is the same drive that makes me eat and sleep—though I can go without food and sleep for a few days, if I need to. I’m not so sure about writing.

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

mediakit_bookcover_urbandragon

Rosario Hernandez doesn’t ask for much. She’d like to sleep on a bed instead of a sidewalk, to know where her next meal is coming from, and maybe, if she’s really feeling optimistic, to get a girlfriend. More than anything, though, she wants her best friend Arkay to not murder anyone— because Arkay is a dragon, claws and all, and she has a penchant for vigilante justice. When Arkay’s latest escapade goes sour, Rosario gets stuck with a stolen van and a cooler full of human organs. Now they’re on the run, and it’s not just the cops who want answers. The owner of the cooler is still out there, and they want to replace what they’ve lost— by any means necessary.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

At the Precinct:

At least a dozen police officers had gathered in the hallway, their weapons drawn. Another half dozen moved along the walls of the interrogation room like a pack of wolves, watching for an opening in Arkay’s defenses.

My dragon crouched in the corner, snarling like an animal. The interrogation table had been torn into pieces and hurled through the one-way mirror. The ground was strewn with pulverized cinderblock and silvery crumbles of broken glass. Arkay’s handcuffs had been ripped apart, and the broken metal cut into her skin. Blood poured from her wrists, staining the twisted metal bar she brandished like a club.

One of the officers, a six-foot white guy who looked like he could bench press a horse, charged forward. She rushed forward to meet him, bending low to grab him by a thigh that was nearly as thick around as her waist. So fast I could barely follow it, she yanked him up and over her back, using his own momentum to hurl him into a wall. Blood darkened the fabric around his leg. I couldn’t tell if it was hers or his.

She snarled, and I ran past the last line of police into the tiny room. I stumbled between her and the fallen man, my hands outstretched.

“Arkay, it’s me!” I inched closer. She angled her body toward me, but her eyes kept darting to the officers around her. “See? They let me in. Everything’s okay now.”

She grabbed me by the wrist and yanked me into the corner behind her with a snarl.

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Amazon

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

JW Troemner will be awarding $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. CLICK HERE to enter to Win! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

JW Troemner, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , ,

18 thoughts on “not just the cops who want answers #UrbanFantasy @JWTroemner @GoddessFish

  1. jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 12:37 AM Reply

    Hello, Jacey, and thank you so much for having me here today!

  2. Goddess Fish Promos (@GoddessFish) October 12, 2016 at 3:54 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. Mai Tran October 12, 2016 at 4:07 AM Reply

    What are your dreams and plans for your future as a writer?

    • jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 12:05 PM Reply

      Mai, you always ask such great questions. Thank you!

      If we’re talking fantasies, I’d be thrilled to get enough readers that somebody decides one of my stories needs to be made into a Netflix series.

      But mostly I want to just be able to continue writing and get my ideas out there. I’ve got so many stories left to tell, and I’d love for them to gain more traction.

  4. Mary Preston October 12, 2016 at 4:44 AM Reply

    This dragon snarls a lot.

    • jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 11:51 AM Reply

      You know, she really does. I might need to go in and fix that. Thank you for catching it!

  5. Shelley S October 12, 2016 at 5:58 AM Reply

    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR BOOK AND TOUR! THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY!

    • jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 12:05 PM Reply

      Thank you, Shelley! And thank you for your enthusiasm!

  6. Lisa Brown October 12, 2016 at 6:30 AM Reply

    Congrats on the tour and thanks for the opportunity to win 🙂

  7. clojo9372 October 12, 2016 at 9:20 AM Reply

    Thank you for sharing your guest post and inspiration with us. I am not a fan of those standardized tests at all.. I remember the stress I felt when I took them.

    • jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 12:10 PM Reply

      I think what’s even worse (aside from the horrific way they’re forced to be graded) is that there’s so much pressure put on the students who take them. After all, they’re used to decide the funding for their schools, so their teachers are freaking out, which freaks out a lot of the students, which makes them freeze up completely.

      Growing up, I wound up scoring better than a lot of people who were WAY smarter than me, because they’d be driven into a panic and make simple mistakes, whereas I was blissfully unaware of the actual stakes of the test at the time, so I could actually take them calmly and do well. It’s a pretty glaring handicap that’s built in to the very premise of the test, and it’s a real problem.

  8. […] week I’m doing a guest post with author Jacey Holbrand, where I’ll be talking about what fuels me to keep writing– or rather, about my […]

  9. Victoria October 12, 2016 at 11:39 AM Reply

    Thanks for sharing the excerpt!

    • jwtroemner October 12, 2016 at 1:57 PM Reply

      Thank you for reading, Victoria!

  10. jwtroemner October 13, 2016 at 2:03 AM Reply

    Jacey, it’s late so I think I’m going to call it a night.

    Thank you again for having me here today. It’s been a blast!

  11. Nikolina84 October 13, 2016 at 4:50 AM Reply

    Good luck with the book tour,! 🙂

  12. Nikolina84 October 17, 2016 at 5:02 AM Reply

    Shared on G+ to help spread the word, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

