put his very soul to the test #SciFi #Humor @A_Writer_Guy @GoddessFish

VBT_ApocalypseWow_Banner copy

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to Ben Mariner and his story Apocalypse Wow!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_ApocalypseWow

Ben Mariner is the author of Apocalypse Wow as well as The Many Lives of Zane Montgomery, which definitely sold some copies to some people. He currently lives in Denver with his wife and animals. He enjoys mozzarella sticks, dunk tanks at carnivals, and solving crime with his psychic powers and best friend/sidekick.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Blog/Website ## Twitter ## Facebook

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked Ben Mariner, “How did you get your start in writing and what fuels you to continue?” and here is the response.

I started writing at a very young age. I remember my parents bringing home this used electronic typewriter. It sat on a stool under our wall mounted land line phone. Yes, that is dating myself quite heavily, but those were the good ol’ days. Anyway, I loved playing with that typewriter, just pecking at the keys and whatnot. I liked the sound, the mechanisms. One day I had an idea for a story about a kid who found a curse Native American spear in the woods behind his house. That was really as far as I got. He found it, picked it up, and it burned his hand. The whole thing was probably two paragraphs long. Suffice it to say, I was too young to understand how to actually write a well-developed story.

I enjoyed the concept though. Coming up with ideas and thinking them out. Bruce Coville was my favorite as a kid. Space Brat. Goblins in the Castle. I read so much of his stuff, and it just fueled my imagination like crazy. I was always coming up with new little stories. I even created this poorly drawn comic book about these two characters that highly resembled Rayman from those video games. They were superheroes. It was pretty rad.

It wasn’t until high school that I really found an aptitude for writing. I had an assignment where I was supposed to write a descriptive essay about a defining moment of my life. I really didn’t know what to write so I took a random moment – a time when I saw a very pretty girl at a New Year’s Eve party – and turned it into this epic story in which I almost died in a car accident and then she broke my nose and all this other nonsense. I thought it was, for sure, going to be an F. When the teacher handed the paper back, not only did she give me an A, she also made a note wondering what happened between this girl and me. I was apparently better and making things up than I had thought.

That’s what has always inspired me to write more. Someone enjoying the words I wrote. It was just fun. Write something. Let someone read it. They enjoy it. Write something else. It was just short stories for a long time. I just never had an idea that I felt like I could stretch into a full-fledged novel. Eventually that would come, but the thing that drove me on was getting that positive feedback from readers. I don’t care if millions read the books I write. What I care about is that the people who do read them really enjoy them and want to share that enjoyment with others.

That’s what will always keep me writing.

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

MediaKit_BookCover_ApocalypseWow

Jack Winters is in a bit of a pickle. Things started out just fine. He had a decent job and a few friends. Then he met the woman of his dreams. They go out on a date and things go really well. That’s when things go south. The morning after turns out to be a week later and the world went ahead and ended itself while Jack was far away in dreamland. Now he’s awake in a post-apocalyptic world with no family, no job, and worst of all, no girlfriend. Along with his friends and some other random tag-alongs, Jack will journey cross country to find the woman of his dreams against zombies, heavy metal horsemen, pirates, and a power so immense and evil it will put his very soul to the test.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

A man who could best be described as homeless was standing in the middle of the merry-go-round as the metal saucer twirled slowly around. His clothes were filthy, and the hair that stuck out the bottom of his tin foil hat was matted and disgusting. In his hands he held a piece of cardboard that was about three feet by three feet with black writing that read: THE END IS NEAR. For some reason, I couldn’t help but stand and watch the man slowly rotate over and over again, reading the sign each time it came around. I found myself wondering three things. First, why was he standing in that abandoned park instead of on a street corner that people other than me frequented, so that he may spread his message? I would think that everyone would like to know that the end – whatever that entailed – was near. Second, why do all homeless doomsday prophets have to be so vague? Don’t they think we’d like a more exact date on when the end would occur? A time, a day…something? And third, just how in the hell does a homeless guy afford markers to make a sign anyway?

I decided to let the more important mysteries of the universe figure themselves out and continued on my way to work. After all, the only apocalypse I cared about was the PlayStation game of the same name starring none other than the incomparable Bruce Willis. Man, that guy rocked my world with his unrelenting machismo. By the way, I’m not gay. I just thought I’d clear that up. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Amazon

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

Ben Mariner will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. CLICK HERE to enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

Ben Mariner, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “put his very soul to the test #SciFi #Humor @A_Writer_Guy @GoddessFish

  1. Mary Preston February 10, 2016 at 3:20 AM Reply

    I wonder if you still have that assignment from high school.

    • authorbenmariner February 10, 2016 at 7:09 AM Reply

      Unfortunately I don’t. I think I was so surprised she bought it that I threw it away in an effort to avoid any follow up questions I wasn’t prepared for.

  2. Goddess Fish Promos (@GoddessFish) February 10, 2016 at 4:09 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. authorbenmariner February 10, 2016 at 6:07 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting today, Jacey! I’ll be stopping by throughout the day to answer any questions that anyone may have.

  4. Betty W February 10, 2016 at 9:27 AM Reply

    Great excerpt! Thank you for sharing and for the contest!

  5. Danielle Corrow February 10, 2016 at 11:56 AM Reply

    great excerpt!

  6. Lisa Brown February 10, 2016 at 1:18 PM Reply

    thank you for the chance to win 🙂

  7. H.B. February 10, 2016 at 1:29 PM Reply

    Thank you for the excerpt!

  8. Eva Millien February 10, 2016 at 1:34 PM Reply

    Enjoyed the post and the excerpt, sounds like a terrific read, thanks for sharing!

  9. Becky February 10, 2016 at 3:48 PM Reply

    Thanks for sharing this giveaway.

  10. Rita Wray February 10, 2016 at 4:21 PM Reply

    I enjoyed the excerpt.

  11. Victoria February 10, 2016 at 5:59 PM Reply

    Really great post, I enjoyed reading the excerpt! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  12. authorbenmariner February 10, 2016 at 9:43 PM Reply

    Thanks so much for hosting today! And thanks to everyone that stopped by and commented. Hope you enjoy the book of you decide to read it.

  13. authorbenmariner February 10, 2016 at 9:45 PM Reply

    Thanks for hosting today! And thanks to everyone who stopped by and commented. Hope you enjoy the book if you decide to read it.

  14. Mayor Sonni (@Readeropolis) February 10, 2016 at 10:48 PM Reply

    Enjoyed excerpt! Thank you for sharing and for the giveaway. Who designed your cover art? Why did you go with that particular image?

    • authorbenmariner February 12, 2016 at 5:54 PM Reply

      I did the cover myself actually. The main character listens to his iPod a lot so I thought the image of an mp3 player for the cover would be fun.

  15. Roselle Torres February 11, 2016 at 2:28 AM Reply

    so excited to read this, Thanks for sharing 🙂

  16. Da Ario February 12, 2016 at 9:16 AM Reply

    Sounds like a great read, thank you for sharing!

  17. Ree Dee February 15, 2016 at 11:28 PM Reply

    I enjoyed the excerpt. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

