They want revenge #SciFi @gerhardgehrke @GoddessFish

VBT_ABeginnersGuideToInvadingEarth_Banner copy

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to Gerhard Gehrke and his story A Beginner’s Guide to Invading Earth!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_ABeginnersGuideToInvadingEarth

Gerhard Gehrke studied ?lm at San Francisco State University. He wrote and produced several shows for community television. His Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror short stories have appeared in several publications, including an Editor’s Choice-winning short story at AnotheRealm.com. A Beginner’s Guide to Invading Earth is his ?rst novel.

You can connect with him at Gerhardgehrke.com.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Website ## Blog ## Twitter ## Facebook

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked Gerhard Gehrke, “How did you get your start in writing and what fuels you to continue?” and here is the response.

I was weened on a heavy diet of comic books and cheesy science fiction and monster movies. As reading books came into the picture, I started writing my own stories in a notebook for no one else to read but me. This blossomed into making Pac-Man comic books in grade school with friends, which included a heavy dose of vampires and Shogun Warriors to please my fellow collaborators. Getting involved in local community television introduced me to actually finding an audience for things put down on paper, even though most of what we worked on was non-narrative in structure. Writing fiction evolved from all of this.

I was in the process of self publishing A Beginner’s Guide to Invading Earth when I saw a tweet from Booktrope looking for authors. I had checked up on several small publishing companies and saw that some had horrible reputations and did little for the author. I researched Booktrope and found a good Wall Street Journal article that let me know that they were legit. I submitted my manuscript to them and they accepted. This meant I had to change my strategy, as I had already hired an editor and edited the manuscript, but the knowledge that I’d have a professional publisher backing me up was a nice boost. But it all started with a tweet.

What keeps me writing? I keep current with astronomy and science news. Even though I don’t write hard science fiction as I have no background in the field, I find plenty of inspiration from real world discoveries and I look for ways in which these elements would fit into a story. On the softer side of writing my wife continues to encourage me and is a willing test subject and beta reader who doesn’t mind me watching over her shoulder to see what page of a manuscript she’s on. And now that I’ve had a few occasions to speak with ones who’ve read my first novel, the fear/excitement that comes from speaking to people about what I love doing has become an addiction.

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

MediaKit_BookCover_ABeginnersGuideToInvadingEarth

What would you do if you found a dead alien on a lonely highway?

Was it an accident, sabotage, or murder? And why is everyone blaming Jeff?

The extraterrestrials aren’t waiting for answers. They want revenge. And Jeff isn’t ready for company.

His only hope is an outcast mechanic from another world and a woman who might do anything to get off planet, including selling out her own kind. Jeff has to get to the bottom of why there are so many alien bodies piling up and who is really responsible.

A science ?ction adventure novel, A Beginner’s Guide to Invading Earth tells the story of a reclusive ex-computer programmer who is the unwitting central ?gure of a plot to keep humanity from ever making ?rst contact.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

“Do you believe in aliens? Jordan asked.

Outside of town and with no moon, Jeff drove with care. The road ahead curved into black beyond the pickup truck’s headlights. Some of the turns had helpful signs with black arrows on reflective yellow, but most did not.

“Like little green men with designs on our world?” Jeff said.

“More like what’s been going on in the news,” she said. “The actual sightings of extraterrestrials. That alien body in Nevada.”

“I don’t watch T.V. Heard some crazy stuff on the radio. But I don’t listen to it much, either.”

“You really are cut off, you know. Like a hermit.”

Jeff smiled. Only a couple of cars passed them, both heading the opposite way. He thought of the gangly, hairy creature he had seen, working to fix his broken spaceship, panicking at the sight of a human, and somehow knowing Jeff’s name without so much as an introduction. Had that actually happened?

“It seems like pretty big news,” Jordan said. “If it’s real, that is. So do you like keeping yourself so isolated?”

“I like to think of myself as unplugged,” Jeff said. “Maybe more people should try it. As for the aliens, there’s this old theory about hysteria. It’s happened before. A commie in every closet. Fluoride in the drinking water lets the government control the population.”

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Amazon ## Barnes & Noble ## YouTube Trailer

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

Gerhard Gehrke will be awarding a $10 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. CLICK HERE to enter to win a $10 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

Gerhard Gehrke, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “They want revenge #SciFi @gerhardgehrke @GoddessFish

  1. Mary Preston December 18, 2015 at 1:38 AM Reply

    What a fun cover & title.

  2. Goddess Fish Promos (@GoddessFish) December 18, 2015 at 3:56 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. Mai Tran December 18, 2015 at 5:39 AM Reply

    What is your favorite thing about your career?

  4. capriciousnarrator December 18, 2015 at 7:48 AM Reply

    Good morning and thank you for having me today!

  5. capriciousnarrator December 18, 2015 at 8:31 AM Reply

    @Mai My favorite thing about writing (currently) is the moments where the actual activity of writing draws me inside and there are no distractions. Time flies! Getting zeroed in like this is the goal of every writing session but real life encroaches far too often. Thanks for the question.

  6. capriciousnarrator December 18, 2015 at 8:34 AM Reply

    Question for your readers here: What keeps you going if you write or create art of any kind? What keeps you motivated?

  7. Rita Wray December 18, 2015 at 12:23 PM Reply

    I like the excerpt.

  8. Betty W December 18, 2015 at 3:12 PM Reply

    Awesome cover & excerpt, thank you for sharing!

  9. capriciousnarrator December 18, 2015 at 7:30 PM Reply

    And a big thank you to Jacey Holbrand for having me today!

Leave a Reply

