she’s up to her neck #Paranormal #Romance @randaflannery @GoddessFish

VBT_TourBanner_LoveTheOneYoureWitch

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to Randa Flannery and her story Love the One You’re Witch!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

AuthorPhoto_LoveTheOneYoureWitch

Randa Flannery has an a degree in English and writes a variety of romantic fiction, including suspense, comedy, and urban fantasy. Randa is a member of the Romance Writers of America and lives as an expat with her husband and children in FuYang, China.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Website ## Twitter ## Facebook

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked Randa Flannery, “What is the best and most rewarding thing you find about being a writer? Want to share what you think is the worst and most frustrating thing you find about being a writer?” and here is the response.

I would say the most rewarding part of what I do is reader enjoyment. I am ecstatic every time I read a new good review or get a message from a reader telling me how much they liked what I’d written. I take the time to build these worlds and characters for more than my own satisfaction. Yes, I love doing it and I love my characters, but if the readers didn’t respond, it ruins it for me. I’m human, I enjoy accolades and validation as much as the next person. More than that, however, is that because I love my characters, I want them to get out and get a life, so to speak. Live on through others, as well. Be those characters like the Harry Potter gang or Star Wars cast that people carry with them in their minds and dreams. They inspire others to do and to be. They’re loved. I want that for my characters, too. They are too cool for me to horde away…and I hear it’s illegal to keep people locked away in a dark closet or something. So this is me, avoiding jail time. 😛

The most frustrating thing about this whole gig is the way people view this as something less than real work. Yes, I enjoy what I do and would probably be miserable and unsuccessful at anything else, but that doesn’t change the fact that it is work. Not play, not a hobby. Work. At times, it’s freaking hard work. Non-writers will probably never understand the kind of self torture we go through, the anxiety that haunts us and creeps around in our minds. The pressure we put on ourselves is, at times, overwhelming and we have to either put it all down and walk away for a while or let it give us an ulcer, which would seriously hinder our caffeine intake (something writers need). We feel driven by this need to create, but sometimes we can’t get what’s inside of us onto the paper properly and it’s so frustrating. My mind, at least, is also easily distracted, so being my own task master is often just as maddening as trying to get the kids to mind during homework. We might get blocked and go insane with it, banging our heads against the desk or pulling our hair out. We get mad at ourselves often. All of this goes on ALL THE TIME. And, speaking of time, I don’t think people understand just how much time goes into this! It’s not just the time we spend writing the book. Not even the many many many many hours we spend with revisions (think surgery…seriously. Picture the sweaty brow and trembling fingers as the doctor cuts open the patient, messes around with all the parts, and tries to fit it all back together in a way that makes sense, then sewing it all up in some bloody mess. Yeah, I could totally have gone to medical school.). Add on top of all that time the marketing (never ending) and promotions. The author events and keeping up the relationship with your readers. It’s a lot! I’ve had other jobs and did the 8 hour work day thing. This takes so much more out of me.

And yet, it gives me so much more, too. I love what I do and wouldn’t trade it for anything. But still…keep the good reviews coming!

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

BookCover_LoveTheOneYoureWitch_1

Sassy and snarky witch Anastasia Gregor does not work with vampires. Unfortunately, she forgot to tell her boss that. Now she’s up to her neck (pun intended) in the night walkers as she attempts to help one family fix their love lives.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

“Can you fix it?” She said it with a touch of desperation and I wondered how long this had been going on.

“I can if it’s a spell,” I offered. “How long has she been like this?”

“I’ve loved him forever!” the young vamp declared as she and Lucas finally made it to the couch. “And I will love him forever, no matter what you try to do to us!”

“It’s been about a month,” Lucas answered, frustration edging that smooth voice while she ran fingers through his hair. “She was fine one day, chatting and joking, completely normal. The next, she couldn’t keep her hands off of me.”

I nodded. “Yes, well, have you seen yourself? I think that may be the normal reaction for teenagers when confronted with…” I waved a hand at him. I stopped mid-gesture when I realized the silence around me was now more of a shock reaction than the discomfort of having the errant vamp pawing at her man. “Sorry, just trying to lighten things up,” I mumbled. This is why I didn’t like vampires. No sense of humor. Well, the trying to kill me thing was also a put-off. That in mind, I got back to business and refused to drool over Lucas any more. Or at least, I’d try.

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Amazon ## Barnes & Noble

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

Randa Flannery will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. CLICK HERE to enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

Randa Flannery, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on “she’s up to her neck #Paranormal #Romance @randaflannery @GoddessFish

  1. Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 12:50 AM Reply

    thanks so much for having me on today! i loved writing ana’s story and look forward to hearing what everyone else thinks. i’d be happy to answer any questions anyone has as well!

  2. Goddess Fish Promos (@GoddessFish) October 26, 2015 at 3:37 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  3. Amber Ag October 26, 2015 at 6:07 AM Reply

    Great interview and nice cover. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 9:29 PM Reply

      thanks for stopping in, Amber! i do love the cover. the did a fabulous job of capturing the fun and kind of tongue-in-cheek attitude and feel of the story.

  4. Kellie October 26, 2015 at 8:13 AM Reply

    Enjoyed hearing from the author! Love her work!

  5. Rita Wray October 26, 2015 at 12:02 PM Reply

    I liked the excerpt, thank you.

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 5:04 PM Reply

      thanks, rita. it was a fun book to write. thanks for checking it out.

  6. Eva Millien October 26, 2015 at 12:25 PM Reply

    Enjoyed the excerpt, sounds like my kind of book, thanks for sharing and good luck with the tour!

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 5:00 PM Reply

      thank you, eva! it was hard to choose a scene to share with everyone because i really loved all if ana’s story. thanks for stopping by!

  7. momjane October 26, 2015 at 1:09 PM Reply

    What a fun excerpt. Loved it.

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 5:02 PM Reply

      thank you! so glad you liked it. ana was a really fun character to write. thanks for commenting.

  8. Cali W. October 26, 2015 at 6:39 PM Reply

    Thanks for the giveaway! I like the excerpt. 🙂

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 7:10 PM Reply

      thanks, cali! it was a fun scene to write. ana was a great character to work with, one of those people who just doesn’t bother to filter what’s going through her mind. and she’s not even embarrassed about it. you know those moments when we think back on a conversation and wish we had said something else? ana doesn’t have those!

  9. bn100 October 26, 2015 at 9:16 PM Reply

    nice interview

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 9:31 PM Reply

      it was a great question. thanks for stopping by

  10. Victoria October 26, 2015 at 9:39 PM Reply

    Great post! Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading the excerpt 🙂

    • Randa Flannery October 26, 2015 at 9:59 PM Reply

      thanks, victoria, for stopping by and for the comment! ana was a great character to write and it was hard choosing just one scene to share. glad you liked it!

  11. Betty W October 26, 2015 at 10:59 PM Reply

    Love the excerpt, thank you!

    • Randa Flannery October 27, 2015 at 12:30 AM Reply

      thank you, betty. the whole story was a fun one to write. ana had a lot of great moments.

    • Randa Flannery October 27, 2015 at 5:03 PM Reply

      thank you, betty. i loved writing ana. she was just so cool and funny. so sassy.

  12. blog tour so far | writing in lower case October 27, 2015 at 7:22 PM Reply

    […] one you’re witch yet? i’m only two days in, but it’s been fun! yesterday, i was on jacey holbrand’s blog. today, i’m over on unabridged andra’s  page. i love getting the comments and […]

  13. Da Ario October 29, 2015 at 3:58 AM Reply

    What a great post, thank you!!

  14. Mary Preston October 30, 2015 at 3:36 AM Reply

    Writing is hard work. I couldn’t do it.

  15. Amanda Sakovitz November 6, 2015 at 4:38 AM Reply

    Loved the excerpt, thanks for the chance!

    • Randa Flannery November 6, 2015 at 5:14 AM Reply

      thank you, amanda. good luck on the drawing!

Leave a Reply

