hiding people’s secrets #Mystery #RomCom @denaehaggerty @GoddessFish

VBT_TourBanner_JackGetsHisMan

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to D.E. Haggerty and the story Jack Gets His Man!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

AuthorPhoto_JackGetsHisMan

I was born and raised in Wisconsin, but think I’m a European. After spending my senior year of high school in Germany, I developed a bad case of wanderlust that is yet to be cured. My flying Dutch husband and I have lived in Ohio, Virginia, the Netherlands, Germany and now Istanbul. We still haven’t decided if we want to settle down somewhere – let alone where. Although I’ve been a military policewoman, a commercial lawyer, and a B&B owner, I think with writing I may have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up. That’s assuming I ever grow up, of course. Between tennis, running, traveling, singing off tune, drinking entirely too many adult beverages, and reading books like they are going out of style, I write articles for a local expat magazine and various websites, review other indie authors’ books, write a blog about whatever comes to mind and am working on my sixth book.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Website ## Blog ## Twitter ## Facebook ## Pinterest ## Goodreads ## Google +

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked D.E. Haggerty, “What is the best and most rewarding thing you find about being a writer? Want to share what you think is the worst and most frustrating thing you find about being a writer?” and here is the response.

I recently discovered the absolutely best thing about being a writer this January while vacationing for a week in Jordan with my husband. I had just finished the manuscript for my fourth book and sent if off to beta readers. I literally pushed send on the emails and then grabbed my bags because the taxi was already waiting. Although we were on vacation, I felt the need to read my emails and check social media so I wouldn’t miss a marketing opportunity or questions from a beta reader. I’m anal like that. I noticed something super duper exciting while checking emails and social media during that week – it was all about books.

And that’s the best thing about being a writer – it’s all about books! I love books. I love the smell of them, I love the feel of them, I love the idea of them. I just plain love them. I made my husband pack up and move my books from country to country, even across oceans, because someday I am going to have an awesome library – darn it! For a while, I did have a library in my Bed & Breakfast. It was a small room on the top floor with a slanted wooden ceiling (which I painted pink) and three walls filled with book shelves as well as three comfy chairs to sit in. I’d often sit in that room when there were no guests around and just take it all in. Even though those boxes are currently residing in a container somewhere in Germany, I will have a library again.

And if my own book is added to my library? There is absolutely, positively nothing more rewarding as a writer than seeing your book in paperback for the first time. To think I managed to take this little idea I had in my head and develop into a complete story, which I then managed to write, edit and have published is mind boggling. Wow. Just wow.

Of course every upside has got to have a downside. There are two things that I find really frustrating about being a writer. In the first place, no one understands what you do with your time. If I’m not writing my book, then I’m obviously off – um, not! There’s so much more to it than that. As an indie author, I’m the one in charge of the marketing, which means that I’m the person updating my social media accounts and website. I’m also the one begging reviewers and bloggers for reviews and spotlight posts. Sometimes it feels like I spend more time on marketing and creating a public presence than on writing! And let’s not forget about researching, outlining and editing. I even translated one of my books into Dutch.

The other aspect of being a writer that I find frustrating is everyone’s assumption that every character is either me or a friend of mine. I’m pretty sure I’m not a 40-year old gay man living in Oklahoma even if the protagonist in Jack Gets His Man is. One of the fun things about being a writer is making stuff up. Am I really a writer if I’m just stealing stories from friends and family? Don’t answer that.

As you can probably tell by me going all trip the fantastic over the benefits of being an author, the good clearly the outweighs the bad and that’s more than I could ever hope for.

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

BookCover_JackGetsHisMan

Everything seems to be going well in Jack’s life. His store is busy making money hand over fist and his best friend has found love. The new bookkeeper at the store discovers things aren’t actually as they seem. Someone is playing fast and loose with the store accounts. Jack’s bestie and his knitting group fancy themselves detectives and jump at the chance to solve Jack’s problems. When they aren’t re-enacting scenes from Mission: Impossible, they’re setting Jack up on dates and generally insinuating themselves into his love life. They’re determined to find love for Jack as well as his missing money. Will Jack catch a thief or find love? Either way Jack’s going to get his man.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

“Look,” Tommy said as he looked anywhere but at Jack. “I appreciate you coming out here and all, but I’m not interested.”

Jack bristled. Not interested? How could the man not be interested in him? He was good-looking, owned a successful business, and was tons of fun to boot.

“Sorry, sorry. I’m saying this all wrong.” Tommy took a deep breath and leaned forward. “I’m not gay,” he whispered.

Okay, now Jack was confused. Normally men whispered that they were gay. Not the other way around. He leaned back in the booth and crossed his arms across his chest. “Okay. What’s going on?”

“Betty and her gals have been trying to set me up with every woman within a thirty mile radius. It’s driving me absolutely batty. Do you know what it’s like to be the only single man at church and have every old biddy there trying to set you up with their daughter, niece, granddaughter, second cousin. Everyone!” He threw his hands up in surrender. “It’s fucking exhausting.”

Jack chuckled. “I can only imagine darling.”

“Exactly. I thought if I told them I’m gay, I’d be off the hook. Because, let’s face it, you don’t want to be on their bad side.” Tommy leaned forward and whispered. “You know some poor woman pissed them off and they put ex-lax in a special batch of brownies just for her. I don’t touch the cookies anymore.”

Jack let his gaze slide up and down Tommy’s body. “No, I don’t imagine that you do,” he drawled.

“Thanks.” Tommy might not be gay but he had absolutely no problems with Jack checking him out. What a shame he didn’t play for Jack’s team. “Anyway, I’m really sorry about this but I didn’t want to say this on the phone. Plus,” Tommy’s eyes pleaded with Jack. “I would really appreciate it if you didn’t tell them I’m straight.”

Jack chuckled. This was new. He was, unfortunately, used to hiding people’s secrets but usually it wasn’t because they were straight. “What do I get out of it?”

“Dinner?”

Jack waved his hands. “It’s fine. I totally understand. The ladies can get a bit pushy.” Tommy snorted. “Yeah, yeah, more than a bit. But I love them.”

“I don’t know whether I love them or want to strangle them. When they’re attention is on someone else I want to worship at their conniving little feet. But when they sink their claws into me, I want to scream like a little girl and go hide.”

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Jack Gets His Man ## Unforeseen Consequences ## Buried Appearances ## Begraven in het Verleden ## Life Discarded ## Murder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

D.E. Haggerty will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour. Enter to win a $15 Amazon/BN GC or copy of the book – a Rafflecopter giveaway! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

D.E. Haggerty, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “hiding people’s secrets #Mystery #RomCom @denaehaggerty @GoddessFish

  1. D.E. Haggerty July 27, 2015 at 2:02 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting me today!

  2. Mary Preston July 27, 2015 at 2:32 AM Reply

    How did you decide which way to go with the cover?

    • D.E. Haggerty July 27, 2015 at 2:46 AM Reply

      This was the most difficult cover we’ve done. We = my husband and I. He’s the talent in the family. Because it’s part of a series (although the books are stand alones) we wanted to keep with a fun illustration cover like Murder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem. That was the easy part. Everything we came up with that looked similar to the previous cover didn’t work until we decided to go with pop art. When my husband suggested pop art, I nearly hit my head and said duh like Homer Simpson. It was such an obvious way to go since the main character of the story, Jack, is totally into fashion and a gay man. After that it was merely a matter of getting an image that reflected the story itself. I think covers are super duper important. Not only should the cover give a hint of the type of book (e.g. serious, fun, etc.) but it should also give a hint of the book’s story.

  3. Goddess Fish Promotions July 27, 2015 at 5:27 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  4. Rita Wray July 27, 2015 at 1:01 PM Reply

    I liked the excerpt.

  5. Eva Millien July 27, 2015 at 1:49 PM Reply

    Enjoyed the excerpt, sounds like a really good book, thanks for sharing!

  6. Patrick Siu July 27, 2015 at 3:56 PM Reply

    I have enjoyed learning about the book. Thanks for sharing it.

  7. Victoria July 27, 2015 at 6:11 PM Reply

    Love the cover! Thanks for sharing the excerpt 🙂

  8. Betty W July 27, 2015 at 7:13 PM Reply

    Great excerpt~I really enjoyed learning about you and your book! It sounds like you have an exciting life~I’m somewhat envious of your travels! Thank you for a great post and contest! Oh, and I LOVE books, too!

  9. D.E.Haggerty (@denaehaggerty) July 28, 2015 at 12:25 AM Reply

    Thanks for the kind words and encouragement everyone! I hope the rest of the novel is as fun as this excerpt 🙂

  10. Ree Dee August 2, 2015 at 12:56 AM Reply

    I enjoyed the Topic Du Jour. Thank you for the post and the giveaway!

  11. Amanda Sakovitz August 21, 2015 at 7:38 AM Reply

    I really enjoyed the excerpt.

Leave a Reply

