there’s still a price… #SciFi #SpaceOpera @mpax1 @GoddessFish

VBT_TourBanner_Precipice

Hey folks! Today I’m happy to introduce you to M. Pax and the story Precipice!

~ * ~ BIO ~ * ~

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

M. Pax is author of the space adventure series The Backworlds and the contemporary science fiction series The Rifters, plus other novels and short stories. Fantasy, science fiction, and the weird beckons to her, and she blames Oregon, a source of endless inspiration. She docents at Pine Mountain Observatory in the summers as a star guide, has a cat with a crush on Mr. Spock, and is slightly obsessed with Jane Austen.

~ * ~ STALK ~ * ~

Website ## Twitter ## Facebook ## Pinterest

~ * ~ TOPIC du JOUR ~ * ~

I asked M. Pax, “How did you get your start in writing and what fuels you to continue?” and here is the response.

Here’s what Happened when I was Lost

A point came in my life where I was floundering and lost. I had no idea what to do with myself. In a conversation with my mother she said, “You were always good at writing, go write me something.”

The quagmire I was stuck in filled my head with ‘can’ts’. When I thought about returning to writing, my brain hit on an ‘I can’. I sat down at the computer and began to write in earnest.

In spurts off and on, I had written all my life. I still have handwritten and typewriter-written stories and partially finished novels in boxes. The first series I wrote after my mother’s advice still sits on my hard drive. So does the second. They weren’t ready for primetime. They were valuable and not a waste of time, though. I learned I could write an entire novel and more ideas waited to burst out onto the page.

Best of all, when I’m writing I no longer feel lost. Without a doubt this is what I’m supposed to be doing.

My start in publishing was a surprise. I had been going about it the traditional way — seeking an agent to get me to a publisher. Then I ran into Lindsay Buroker on the internet — don’t remember where — and she encouraged me to try this ebook publishing thing (three years ago now). I was a bit skeptical, but I published three very short stories and then a longer short story. By then I was hooked and had received some really good rejection from a big sci-fi magazine. From there, the Backworlds series was born.

Publishing isn’t all unicorns and glitter. It’s a tough business. To keep going I draw on every ounce of tenacity I have, (Never give up, never surrender) and I keep in mind the primary reasons I write are because I love it and it makes me happy. Beneath that foundation is the stronger bedrock of my fans. They’re a bunch of awesome people, and now I write as much for them as myself. And here we are, ten books later.

~ * ~ BLURB ~ * ~

BookCover_Precipice

In the far future, humanity settles the stars, bioengineering its descendants to survive in a harsh universe. This is the sixth book in the science fiction series, The Backworlds. A space opera adventure.

The Backworlds hang by a Quantum string, a thread about to snap. Annihilation is coming if Craze can’t stop it.

The genocidal alien he had trapped breaks free, destroying a ship belonging to the Backworlds’ oldest enemy, the Fo’wo’s. The murderous alien wants to overtake the galaxy. The Fo’wo’s want another war.

The Backworlds’ best chance to survive is to overcome a century of hate and forge an alliance with the Fo’wo’s. Because of his history with the alien, Craze is recruited to represent his people. Now he’s the most hated man in the galaxy.

The looming war will be a holocaust unless he can stop it, knowing salvation comes at a price.

Boing Boing gives The Backworlds 5 stars! “This is a fun, fast paced novel that reminded me a bit of early Heinlein”.

~ * ~ EXCERPT ~ * ~

Commander Hunninger tapped an icon on her tab and jabbed it in Craze’s face. “You really want to say no to this?”

The screen was too close. He grabbed the device from her manly fingers and brought the image into focus. A brand new, state-of-the-art, mini city docking facility. Pardeep Station had never seen finer and probably never would. Better protection from the dust storms was a necessity, and folks had to get out of the cold. Craze tired of the stench of the sick. “How much is it goin’ to cost? Everyone on this moon barely has three chips to jangle in their holey pockets.”

“No chips.” She smiled. Her wide mouth contained a lot of very white teeth.

Three good sucks on his air hose and Craze knew he wasn’t dreaming. He narrowed his eyes. “There’s still a price.”

~ * ~ BUY ~ * ~

Amazon ## B&N ## iBook ## GooglePlay ## Smashwords ## Kobo ## Other

~ * ~ GIVEAWAY ~ * ~

M. Pax will be awarding a $40 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour! CLICK HERE to enter to Win! Readers, follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates and places can be found here: Tour Schedule

~ * ~

M. Pax, thank you for stopping by today!

Love & blessings to all! ❤
Jacey

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “there’s still a price… #SciFi #SpaceOpera @mpax1 @GoddessFish

  1. mpax1 June 8, 2015 at 12:26 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting me, Jacey. It’s great to be visiting you.

    What inspires you all to read?

    http://mpaxauthor.com

  2. T.F.Walsh June 8, 2015 at 1:17 AM Reply

    Fantastic book.. the whole series sounds great. Huge congrats.

    • mpax1 June 8, 2015 at 9:25 AM Reply

      It’s a labor of love to write it, TF.

  3. Mary Preston June 8, 2015 at 2:20 AM Reply

    I am intrigued. Great cover.

    • mpax1 June 8, 2015 at 9:25 AM Reply

      Thank you. My cover artist does great work.

  4. Goddess Fish Promotions June 8, 2015 at 5:07 AM Reply

    Thanks for hosting!

  5. Alex J. Cavanaugh (@AlexJCavanaugh) June 8, 2015 at 7:13 AM Reply

    We’re glad you found your path!

    • mpax1 June 8, 2015 at 9:25 AM Reply

      Aww. I’m blushing.

  6. […] Jacey Holbrand – Here’s what Happened when I was Lost […]

  7. Trix June 8, 2015 at 11:58 AM Reply

    It sounds very intriguing!

    • mpax1 June 8, 2015 at 12:05 PM Reply

      Thank you!

  8. Ree Dee June 14, 2015 at 3:02 AM Reply

    I really enjoyed the Topic du Jour. Thank you!

    • mpax1 June 15, 2015 at 4:31 PM Reply

      Thank you, Ree

  9. Darlene June 19, 2015 at 2:44 PM Reply

    Thanks to Mom for getting you writing! If she hadn’t we wouldn’t have these wonderful books to read. Thanks for not giving up.

Leave a Reply

